Our Lady’s Hospice & Care Services is managed by a Board of Directors. Their responsibilities are:

Entrepreneurial Leadership
Providing effective leadership of the Hospice within a framework of prudent and effective controls.

Strategic Direction
Setting the strategic direction of the Hospice, in light of the ethos and values that underpin the organisation, as established by the Religious Sisters of Charity.

Approving, monitoring and reviewing organisational performance.

The Board Members:

Mr. Brian Murray, Interim Chairman

photo1Interim Chairman, Brian Murray is former Chief Executive Officer of the Dublin Dental University Hospital, member of the Postgraduate Medical and Dental Board and member and Vice President of the Dental Council of Ireland, he is presently a board member of St James’s Hospital and Treasurer of the Association for Dental Education in Europe.

Dr. Brendan Clune

Dr-Brendan-CluneDr Brendan Clune has been working as a general practitioner in Ranelagh, Dublin 6 for some 25 years. He is an active member of the Irish College of General Practitioners and has a special interest in Care of the Elderly and in Student Health.

Mr. Stephen Walsh

Stephen-WalshStephen Walsh, who was a career banker for 40 years, retired from Bank of Ireland Private Banking in 2006. He is a consultant to a small number of high profile clients and serves as a non-executive director on a number of private and family boards, where he also acts as trustee. Stephen is currently Chair of the City of Dublin Skin and Cancer Hospital Charity Board and a member of the Board of Directors of The Charles Institute of Dermatology, at UCD. He also continues to play an active role on a number of finance and investment committees in the not-for-profit sector.

Ms. Mary Rose Gearty

Mary Rose GeartyMary Rose Gearty is a senior counsel, specialising in cases involving sexual offending, homicide and fraud.  She is the Chairman of the Professional Practices Committee of the Council of the Bar of Ireland.  Mary Rose sits on the Examination Appeals Board at the Honorable Society of the King’s Inns in Dublin, and is an elected Bencher of the Society.

Dr. Terry McWade

Terry is CEO and Co-Founder of Valitacell, an early stage biotechnology company. Previous executive roles include Deputy CEO in the RCSI, Principle in the Boston Consulting Group (London), and CEO of Servier Laboratories (Denmark). Terry sits on the Board of the Institute of Banking, and on the Registration and Continuing Practice Committee and Audit Committee of the Medical Council. He was formerly Chair of the European Vaccine Initiative and Deputy Chair of the Dublin Dental Hospital.

Ms. Kay Connolly

Kay Connolly headshot.doc

Kay Connolly, RGN, MSc. was appointed Chief Executive Officer of St Vincent’s University Hospital in June 2018. With over 30 years’ experience of working in St Vincent’s University Hospital in a variety of important clinical and non-clinical management positions, Ms Connolly has developed a strong reputation for driving change, providing leadership and strategic planning.  As CEO Ms Connolly ensures that all strategic and operational opportunities and challenges are dealt with effectively and efficiently with the focus on patient safety and the highest levels of quality of care.

Mr. Sean Dorgan

Sean Dorgan (2)Sean Dorgan was previously Chairman of Ulster Bank Group, Tesco Ireland, Dublin Institute of Technology and Irish Management Institute (IMI); he was also Secretary General of two Government Departments, and CEO of Chartered Accountants Ireland and of IDA Ireland. He is currently Chairperson of Wicklow Hospice Foundation and a board member of the Irish Cancer Society.

Ms. Helen Nolan

Helen headshotHelen Nolan is Secretary to the board of Bank of Ireland Group since 2009.  She has senior executive experience as Head of Internal Audit and Head of Finance in banking and insurance roles.  Helen is responsible for all aspects of board and corporate governance, has senior executive experience in successful banking and life assurance businesses and has led the development and implementation of the investment strategy for the Bank’s main DB Pension Fund.  Helen has extensive audit and accounting experience, and has Chaired the Audit Committee of the Department of Agriculture for six years.

Mr. Eugene Murray

Eugene MurrayEugene Murray is former CEO of the Irish Hospice Foundation; he is a member of the board of St Luke’s Hospital; member of various national health councils, committees and forums; in RTE, he was a member of the Executive Board, Director of Business Planning and Head of Television Current Affairs.

Ms. Carole Pollard

Carol Pollard, President of Royal Institute of Architects in Ireland.

Carole Pollard is a registered architect and Past President of the Royal Institute of Architects in Ireland 2016-2017.  She was a member of the RIAI Governance Review Steering Committee and as President was responsible for implementing new governance structures.  Carole’s practice includes teaching, writing and research work in the area of architecture and design, and she is an advocate for excellence in the built environment.

Mr. Pat Costello

Pat Costello

Following a successful military career with the Irish Defence Forces, Pat went on to gain a range of experience in leadership roles in Ireland and internationally. Pat recently retired from his role as CEO at Chartered Accountants Ireland after 13 years and was previously CEO of Irish Tax Institute. He is currently on the board of the Policing Authority and has been part of the GAA Audit Committee.